We use cookies to improve your experience on this website. Read More Allow Cookies

Irish Whiskey Awards presented

Posted on: 21 Dec 2021

Both emerging and established Irish whiskey producers and patrons were honoured at the 2021 Irish Whiskey Awards.


The 2021 Irish Whiskey Awards took place recently at the Powerscourt Distillery in Co. Wicklow, presented by keynote speaker Jack Teeling, founder and MD of Teeling Whiskey.


Judging of this year’s awards took place earlier this summer where organisers, Celtic Whiskey, posted out several hundred blind tasting packs to members of the Celtic Whiskey Club, Irish Whiskey Society — Dublin and Dingle, Cork Whiskey Society, Waterford Whiskey Society, Kilkenny Whiskey Guild, Ennis Whiskey Club, 1875 Whiskey Club and Belfast Whiskey Club. All results were audited and verified by Serghios Florides, owner and Editor-in-Chief of Irish Whiskey Magazine, and William Lavelle from the Irish Whiskey Association.


Celtic Cask 1999 - Tríocha a Cúig - 35 won the coveted Best Irish Whiskey of the Year prize, with extremely close competition from Dunvilles 18 Year Old Single Cask, which picked up a gold medal and the much-coveted second place.


2021 winners

The winners of the 2021 Irish Whiskey Awards are as follows:


Overall Winner - Irish Whiskey of the Year 2021

Best Irish Whiskey of the Year – Celtic Cask 1999 - Tríocha a Cúig - 35


Category winners:


Single Pot Still 11 and Under:

Winner: Method & Madness Single Pot Still French Chestnut

Gold: Busker Single Pot Still

Gold: Teeling Single Pot Still


Single Pot Still 12 Year and Over

Winner: Powers Johns Lane

Gold: Redbreast 12 Year Old


Blended Limited Release

Winner: Writers’ Tears Inniskillen Icewine Cask Finish

Gold: Dubliner Old Fashioned Beer Cask

Gold: Eiregold Special Reserve


Blended No Age Statement

Winner: Jameson Black Barrel

Gold: Sailors Home The Journey

Gold: The Irishman Founder’s Reserve Rum Finish


Blended With Age Statement

Winner: Jameson Bow Street 18 Year Old

Gold: Pearse 7 Year Old Distillers Choice

Gold: Tullamore Dew 12 Year Old


Single Malt 11 and Under

Winner: The Irishman Single Malt Marsala Cask Finish

Gold: Writers’ Tears Red Head

Gold: Jack Ryan Haddington


Single Malt 12-15 Years Old

Winner: Gelston’s 15 YO Sherry Cask

Gold: Method & Madness Single Malt

Gold: The Irishman 12-Year-Old Single Malt


Single Malt 16 Years and Over

Winner: The Irishman 17-Year-Old Single Malt

Gold: Tullamore Dew 18 Year Old

Gold: Dublin Liberties Keepers Coin Batch 2


Single Grain

Winner: Teeling Single Grain (Vintage 13YO)

Gold: The Bridge Bethlehem Release

Gold: Method & Madness Single Grain


Single Cask

Winner: Celtic Cask 1999 - Tríocha a Cúig - 35

Gold: Dunville’s 18 Year Old Cask 989

Gold: The Irishman Peated Red Ale Cask


Cask Strength

Winner: Dunvilles 12 Year Old PX Cask Strength

Gold: Redbreast 27 Year Old

Gold: Writers’ Tears Cask Strength 2021


New Irish Whiskey

Winner: Shortcross Single Malt

Gold: Connacht Whiskey Single Malt

Gold:Teeling Black Pitts